Trust

trust fall

If you have ever been to a team building event, mostly likely, you were asked to participate in a trust fall… when you stand backwards, usually up a bit higher than the rest of your team, and you are supposed to fall backwards into your teammates arms – trusting that they will catch you before you crash onto the ground.  THAT is a “trust fall”.

I have been learning about a lot of things lately….. trust being one of them.

So before I go on, it might be good to define the word.

According to dictionary.com, TRUST means this:  “Reliance on the integrity, strength, ability, surety, etc., of a person or thing; confidence.”

And this: “Confident expectation of something; hope.”

And this: “A person on whom or thing on which one relies: God is my trust.”

And I will pick it up right there with the “God is my trust” because that is what I am really learning about now.

It’s easy to trust God when He’s working in my life in a way that is right in line with MY thoughts and plans…. but then it happened.

My prayers were answered – but only half answered in the way that I was hoping.

The disappointment masked the goodness of the answered prayer. The hurt could really build into anger which could eventually build into bitterness….if I let it. Did I want that?

Sure, I have had prayers answered in ways I didn’t want before. I am not sure why this was any different for me or why it made as much of an impact as it did – other than I know my study in trust and faith in recent weeks has been fervently attacked by Satan – so I suspected the negative feelings that came up so blatantly were all a part of his scheme for me to doubt my Savior.

I found myself asking: Am I willing to trust God only in my waiting or only when He answers my prayer in the way I want? Or am I going to trust Him 100% of the time – INCLUDING those times when my prayers are answered in a completely different way than I had wanted?

Years ago, I cut out an article for my husband and I quickly found it this morning to read over again because it is so prevalent to my situation now. It is from Lysa TerKeurst – and I actually found the exact article to share with you:

I love this!  Because there is no answer to “why” in this situation.  I don’t know “why”.  Will probably never know.  But I can ask “what”.  And I am asking all the “what” questions that Lysa TerKeurst listed in that article.

Interestingly, this all follows right into another lesson that I am learning:  God is enough.  But that is definitely a subject for another post.  I will leave you with a few Bible verses from Isaiah that mean a lot to me – feel free to comment your favorite Bible verses to me.

Isaiah 55:8-9

 “For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways,” declares the Lord.   “As the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways and my thoughts than your thoughts.”

Isaiah 41:10

So do not fear, for I am with you;  do not be dismayed, for I am your God.  I will strengthen you and help you; I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.

Isaiah 41:13

For I am the Lord your God who takes hold of your right hand and says to you, Do not fear;  I will help you.

Isaiah 40:28-31

Do you not know?  Have you not heard?  The Lord is the everlasting God, the Creator of the ends of the earth.  He will not grow tired or weary, and his understanding no one can fathom.   He gives strength to the weary  and increases the power of the weak.   Even youths grow tired and weary, and young men stumble and fall;  but those who hope in the Lord will renew their strength.  They will soar on wings like eagles; they will run and not grow weary, they will walk and not be faint.

in you Lord I put my trust

One thought on “Trust

  1. You survivors in Israel, listen to me, the LORD. Since the day you were born, I have carried you along. I will still be the same when you are old and gray, and I will take care of you. I created you. I will carry you can keep you safe. / / Isaiah 46:3-4

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

