Rest

Not just sitting around.  Not bored.  Not being lazy.

But refreshing… quiet…

Settling in next to God and waiting for Him to speak or lead…and while waiting, just soaking in His love and basking in who He is.

Picture a cozy living room with fire in the fireplace, just watching the flames dance.  A place of comfort.  A place of rest.

the-cabin-should-be-a-cozy-hideout-from-the-world-820x900

We all have times when we feel discouraged or are impatient as we wait for the plans of life to unfold around us so we can continue living.  The fast pace of life gets exhausting but the fast pace of our minds – of our thoughts can be even more exhausting.  There are endless pages of “how to” better our life in a variety of ways… to be more organized, clean better, spend less, save more, not to mention all the ways to “fix” ourselves or our husband or our kids…

The Holy Spirit convicted me of exhausting myself a few years ago.  Even with a slower pace of life, I found there was no rest for my mind… an afternoon or evening when I was home and had uninterrupted time, my mind whirled.  Instead of that being a time of complete rest for me to bask in God’s promises and who He is, it became a time to calculate and figure… to work and rework all the possible scenario to make our living better, our house cleaner, our expenses more frugal.  Ways to make our paycheck stretch further so we could live a comfortable life and afford to do things we wanted to do.

While living frugally and keeping a clean house is all good, it was easy for me to be in a constant state of always doing and never resting.  Because of that, I found myself always looking forward to the next thing rather than enjoying where I currently was with my home, my family and my friends.

So what’s wrong with that?  What does living like that deprive a person of?

First, I didn’t stop and smell the roses.  Do you know how wonderful roses smell?  or tulips? or lilacs?  As you smell those flowers, do you hear the bees buzzing and the birds singing?  All these things are part of God’s creation – things for us to enjoy.  Things that allow us to see the beauty side of our Lord.  (Genesis 1 & 2; Job 38-41)

Second, I wasn’t allowing God to be God in my life because for all our situations, I would have all the options thoroughly thought out and would assume that only one of those options was our answer to our prayer.  I wasn’t recognizing that God would work outside of my box of options.  (Isaiah 40; Romans 11:33-34)

Third, I didn’t allow my soul to be refreshed.  (Isaiah 40:31; Matthew 11:28-29; Jeremiah 31:25)

Do you find yourself at a point of total weariness?  I am not talking about being sleepy, but just plain weary?  Exhausted in strength?  Do you find yourself burdened?  Oppressed? or worried?

The Bible tells us what to do in situations like this.  Matthew 11:28 says “Come to me all you who are weary (exhausted in strength, endurance or freshness) and burdened (oppressed, worried) and I (Jesus) will give you rest.

There is that word again:  Rest.

So what is this rest that Jesus promises us?  Exactly how do we do it or get it?

The answer is found in the Bible at Psalm 46:10 which says “Be still and know that I am God.”

Be still and know that I am God.

THAT is our rest.  Picture yourself sitting in that cozy living room next to our Lord.  Being still.  Knowing that the One with you is God.

So who is God?

The bible is very clear about who God is…  God is:

  • Healer – Psalm 103:3
  • Redeemer – Isaiah 59:20
  • Deliverer – Psalm 70:5
  • Strength – Psalm 43:2
  • Shelter – Joel 3:16
  • Friend – John 15:15
  • Advocate – 1 John 2:1
  • Restorer – Psalm 23:3
  • Everlasting Father – Isaiah 9:6
  • Love – 1 John 4:16
  • Mediator – 1 Timothy 2:5-6
  • Stronghold – Nahum 1:7
  • Bread of Life – John 6:35
  • Hiding Place – Psalm 32:7
  • Everlasting Light – Isaiah 60:20
  • Strong Tower – Proverbs 18:10
  • Resting Place – Jeremiah 50:6
  • Spirit of Truth – John 16:13
  • Refuge from Storm – Isaiah 25:4
  • Eternal Life – 1 John 5:20
  • The Lord Who Provides – Genesis 22:14
  • Lord of Peace – 2 Thessalonians 3:16
  • Living Water – John 4:10
  • My shield – Psalm 144:2
  • Husband – Isaiah 54:5
  • Helper – Hebrews 13:6
  • Wonderful Counselor – Isaiah 9:6
  • The Lord Who Heals – Exodus 15:26
  • Hope – Psalm 71:5
  • God of Comfort – Romans 15:5
  • and much more!

As you go through your life – however busy it may be, take time to rest.

As you pray and are waiting on answers and wondering if God hears or cares – rest.

Where my family is right now in our life, we are waiting on many answers to many prayers.  It’s easy to get discouraged when we wait if we don’t keep our eyes on Jesus.

Be still (quiet your discouragement and discontentment and impatience) and know that I am God (by knowing WHO God is).

God’s promises are true and He is trustworthy to take care of you.

Leave a Reply

