Personal Finance

pig-and-moneyPersonal Finance has always been a love of mine ~ probably fueled by years of playing Monopoly, PayDay and Life as a child.  Later, I spent years in the banking world – beginning as a teller, then head teller, loan assistant, credit analyst, loan operations, and finally management…. I learned the ins and outs of money management.

I explored many authors and speakers about this subject and what’s interesting is years later, after learning more and more about my walk as a Jesus follower, I realized finances was a place that I needed to release to my Lord and not be so obsessed over.  It was during this time that a friend introduced me to a book series called PAID IN FULL by Roger Sapp.

Now, I must say, that I have been hesitant in recommending this book series – just because it appears to be self published and I found some errors in them – all of which are wrong references to some of the Bible verses that are quoted.  Errors annoy me – especially in published works such as this.  But the teaching in the books have had such a profound benefit to my understanding of finances in a Godly life, that I am going to go beyond the annoyances and errors and recommend it.

Here is the link to purchase the full set of 3 books.  (I have no affiliation with this ministry so I do not receive any monies for any purchase you may make)

PAID IN FULL SERIES

Once in a while, I find the first book on the used market… for now, I am using the first two books that were loaned to me.  I have not been able to get my hands on book 3 at this time so I will need to read that at some point in the future.

Because these books opened my eyes to a “different” side of fiances, I decided to use it as a launching point for our home education class on personal finance.  We will be use book 1 & 2:  RADICAL TRUST IN GOD FOR FINANCES and MIRACLES, MONEY AND MOTIVES.

Since I am teaching financial life skills as well as what Jesus teaches, I will be adding in all the information I have learned along my financial life journey so my students have a knowledge of this also.  Here are the topics we will be covering:

Subject 1 – Payroll:  Gross pay, deductions, net pay, direct deposit or receiving a check

Subject 2 – Savings Accounts: General working knowledge, statements (how to read and reconcile), ATM card, interest, debit and credits

Subject 3 – Checking Accounts: Types and how they work, writing checks and check parts, debit cards, statements (how to read and reconcile) and overdrafts

Subject 4 – Cash:  Currency, coin, personal checks, money orders, cashier checks

Subject 5 – Budget or Spending Plans:  Types and how they work

Subject 6 – Loans:  Credit cards (interest, fees, credit limits, perks), installment loans (including student loans), personal notes or signature loans, real estate mortgages, home equity loans, and land contracts.  Other vocabulary:  Compound, accrued, asset, liability

Subject 7 – Identity and Theft:  What it is, why it’s important to keep your identity safe, how it’s stolen and what that means

Subject 8 – Special Accounts / Retirement:  Money Market, IRA, 401k, Health Savings, Flex Savings, Scholarships, Grants

Subject 9 – Other Financial Life Skills:  Renting vs owning, value purchasing, comparison purchasing

As time permits, I will add information to each subject.

For now, I will leave you with this Bible verse that was given to us years ago by a close family friend during a time of great financial stress:

Psalm 20:7  Some trust in chariots and some in horses, but we trust in the name of the LORD our God. 

We were reminded at that time that money is a TOOL and it was suggested for us to substitute whatever is so important to us that it’s hard to trust God for into the verse above.   We did that and reread Psalm 20:7 as this:  Some trust in ‘money and careers’ but we trust in the name of the LORD our God.

That important truth is even printed on our American currency:  IN GOD WE TRUST

in-god-we-trust

We have just begun our journey of trusting God for all of our finances.  It’s been a great time of learning and experiencing God’s goodness and grace.  We are excited for our future as we continue to trust in Him one step at a time!  Stay tuned…

Leave a Reply

