The Blessing of Washing Dishes by hand

Growing up, we never had an automatic dishwasher.  In fact, even now, having a family and home of my own, we still do not own an automatic dishwasher.  I never really considered how this could be a good thing until today.

I was washing dishes and reflecting back on all the conversations – deep conversations – I have been party to over the years… while washing and drying dishes by hand.  What beautiful moments and treasured times can be had over the clatter of dishes.  Conversations with my mom long ago, involving the joys and hurts of growing up.  More recently, the hopes and dreams and even some theological discussions with either my husband, daughter, or son (or all three at once).

I wouldn’t trade those precious moments for anything!

Easier isn’t always better in this case. 

Save

Leave a Reply

